

SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT COMMISSION MEETING

Thursday, April 18, 2013 Peach Room, Ruston Civic Center, 401 North Trenton, Ruston, LA 71270

MINUTES

Call to Order: The April 18, 2013 meeting of the Sparta Groundwater Conservation District Commission was called to order by President Jackie Perritt at 2:00 p.m. Members present were Ben Lowery, Mack Calhoun, Willie Doherty, Jackie Perritt, Billy Perritt, Ted McKinney, and Carol DeVille. Members not in attendance were Terry Emory, Jack Pace, Todd Culpepper, Charles, Hughes, Samuel Little, Chris Smith, Rick Hohlt, Steve Lemmons, Anne Marie Anderson and Dan Morgan. There was not a quorum. Others in attendance were Susan Robbins (LRWA), Tony Duplechin(CAGCD), representatives from RockTenn.

Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance: The invocation was given by Ted McKinney, and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mack Calhoun.

Approval of Agenda: <u>Motion</u>: Ben Lowery moved to approve the Agenda. The motion was seconded by Mack Calhoun and the motion passed.

Welcome and Comments: Mayor Dan Hollingsworth welcomed the commission to Ruston.

Public Comments: There were none.

Approval of Minutes of January 17, 2013 Meeting: <u>Motion:</u> Billy Perritt moved to adopt the Minutes of the January 17, 2013 Meeting. Willie Doherty seconded and the motion passed.

Treasurer's Report: Treasurer Billy Perritt reported the current total Liabilities and Assets of the commission as \$60,512.11. Ted McKinney stated appreciation to City of Ruston for continued support. Mack Calhoun questioned the status of the Ouachita Parish donation which Mr. Perritt confirmed had been received. <u>Motion:</u> Ted McKinney moved for approval of the Treasure's Report. Willie Doherty seconded and the motion passed.

COMMISSIONER REPORTS:

• On State Water Resources Commission and the required Annual Report -- Ted McKinney/Bennie Lowery:

Mr. Lowery reported on the status of the 2012 Annual Report required under state legislation passed last year. The report drafted in 2012 by Alice Stewart and completed by Mr. Lowery was submitted ahead of schedule. The report included a disclaimer to LDNR to minimize hard data requirements or provide funding to hire appropriate staff to meet full requirements of the report. The commission is in full compliance for 2012.

• Marketing and Sparta Foundation – Newsletter – Lindsay Gouedy

In Mr. Hohlt's absence Lindsay Gouedy reported on the status of the Sparta Foundation, Newsletter and Upcoming events. The 2013 first quarter newsletter has been completed and was passed out for the

members to view. The second quarter newsletter should be completed in July. Those interested in receiving a newsletter or who have ideas for newsletter topics can contact Lindsay or Rick. The Webster Parish WaterFest will be held on April 25 and 26. The Sparta Foundation has not received any sponsorship donations for the Webster Parish event. The 2nd Annual Sparta Shoot has been scheduled for June 1 to be held at the Ouachita Parish Shooting Range in West Monroe. Billy Perritt pointed out that all proceeds from the fundraiser benefit the Sparta Foundation's education events and not the Sparta Commission annual budget.

• LDNR Meeting—Ted McKinney

Following a meeting held between Louisiana and Arkansas officials, Louisiana might contribute \$32,000 to the USGS collaborative bi-state monitoring wells. McKinney has issued an invitation to Dr. Matthew Reonas (LDNR Educator) to come to north Louisiana and Arkansas. Tony Duplechin referenced a teacher workshop LDNR conducted in Baton Rouge, LA. The next meeting date for the Louisiana Water Resources Commission has not been set, and the number of meetings per year has been reduced from four to two.

• Financial Disclosures to Ethics Board—May 15 Deadline

Jackie Perritt reminded all members of the May 15 deadline for all financial disclosures to the state ethics board.

• Other Reports: There were none.

Conservation Educator's Report -- Lindsay Gouedy, Conservation Educator: See Marketing and Sparta Foundation report.

Groundwater Management Districts Association – Tony Duplechin, Director of CAGCD:

Tony Duplechin, director of the Capital Area Groundwater Conservation District, has recently been appointed Vice President of the Groundwater Management Districts Association. The Capital Area Groundwater Conservation District is a member of the Groundwater Management Districts Association. Mr. Duplechin extended an invitation to the Sparta Groundwater Commission to join the association. The association has four levels of membership; district, organizational, affiliate, and individual. The costs per membership vary with the district membership costing \$350 annually. There are two meetings held annually, one in January and one in June. Fees cover a July to June fiscal year. There is a heavy focus on agricultural water use within the membership. Ted McKinney and Ben Lowery are going to research further and report to commission at the next meeting.

General Business:

• Status of Commissioner Reappointments/New Appointments – Jackie Perritt

The Governor's office has been slow to respond and organize current appointments/reappointments. Town of Homer resent Ms. DeVille's paper work to Governor's office. Mr. Hughes at RockTenn has yet to hear back on his appointment status.

Next meeting: July 18, 2013, 2 p.m., Ouachita Parish

Due to several anticipated absences on the currently scheduled meeting date of July 18, 2013, the possibility of moving the meeting to Tuesday, July 9 was discussed. The meeting date will be announced at a later date.

Adjournment: <u>Motion</u>: There being no further business, Carol DeVille moved that the meeting be adjourned. Mack Calhoun seconded, and the motion carried. The meeting was adjourned at 3:30 p.m.

Jackie Perritt, Chair

Carol DeVille, Secretary

Note: Attachments are filed with the minutes in the Sparta Commission Office.

COMMISSION MEMBERS (status as of Apr.18, 2013 according to information available to secretary on Mar.25):

Billy Perritt (Bienville)	Dr. Ben Lowery (Claiborne)	Todd Culpepper (n-Jackson)	Rick Hohlt (Lincoln)
Hon. Samuel Little (Morehouse)	Mack Calhoun (Ouachita)	Dan Morgan (Union)	Steve Lemmons (Webster)
Willie G. Doherty (Winn)	Jack Pace (Rotating-Natchitoches)	Chris Smith (Arcadia)	Carol DeVille (n-Homer)
TBA (Jonesboro)	TBA (Minden)	Ted McKinney (Ruston)	Terry Emory (W. Monroe)
Ann Marie Anderson (n-Agriculture)	Charles Hughes (n-Wood Products)	Jackie Perritt (Other Industries)	

Ex Officio Members: Dr. Gary Kennedy (La Tech University); Ben McGee (USGS); Gary Hanson (LSUS); ... (La Rural Water Assoc.) Note: Some terms of members ended Oct. 14. Status of new members (n= "nominated"; TBA= "to be arranged") was the understanding when this agenda was approved (before April 18).