

SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT COMMISSION MEETING

Lomax Hall, Louisiana Tech Univ., Ruston, LA 71272 (Map of Route to La Tech Univ. Lomax Hall next page)

Thursday, April 21, 2011 <u>3:00 P.M.</u> AGENDA

Call to Order Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance Approval of Agenda

Welcome and Comments: Legislators, Other Elected Officials and Agency Officials

Public Comments

Approval of Minutes of January 20, 2011 Meeting Treasurer's Report – Billy Perritt Sparta Foundation and Marketing Campaign – Rick Hohlt

Presentations

- Implementing the Grand Prairie Irrigation Project -- by Dennis Carman, Chief Engineer and Director of the White River Irrigation District (WRID) in Hazen, Ark., introduction by Ted McKinney
- -WRID/US Army Corps of Engineers Project designed to covert farming from aquifer to White River water use
 Arcadia Gas Storage Project & Surface Water Alternatives to Sparta Use in Building Salt-dome Caverns

 Jeff Ballew, President and CEO of Cardinal Gas Storage Partners
- Sparta Update USGS hydrogeologist Ben McGee

Reports

- Sparta Conservation Education -- Lindsay Gouedy, including: --'*Project Invest' Presentation* by Lincoln Parish H. S. Students ('Project Invest' is a Learn and Serve project)
- Louisiana Groundwater Resources Commission meeting on March 14, 2011 Ted McKinney

Arrangements for next meeting: Convention Center, 901 Ridge Ave., West Monroe 71292, July 21, 2011

From 2 p.m. until 3 p.m., there will be an open, informal assembly for fellowship and exchange of ideas. Committee Meetings and Sparta Foundation Meetings will be held during this time.

COMMISSION MEMBERS:			
Billy Perritt (Bienville)	Dr. Ben Lowery (Claiborne)	Todd Culpepper (Jackson)	Rick Hohlt (Lincoln)
Rep. Samuel Little (Morehouse)	Mack Calhoun (Ouachita)	Dan Morgan (Union)	Steve Lemmons (Webster)
Willie G. Doherty (Winn)	Charles Braddock (Rotating Seat-Caldwell)	Chris Smith (Arcadia)	Alice Stewart (Homer)
Mayor Leslie Thompson (Jonesboro)	George Rolfe (Minden)	Ted McKinney (Ruston)	Terry Emory (W. Monroe)
John Van Bennett (Agriculture)	Olevia McDonald (Wood Products)	Jackie Perritt (Other Industries)	
Er Officie Membran, Dr. Com Konneder (Le Tech Universite), Den McCos (USCS), Com Hencen (LEUS), Dill Chemerent (Le Deuel Weter Acces)			

Ex Officio Members: Dr. Gary Kennedy (La Tech University); Ben McGee (USGS); Gary Hanson (LSUS); Bill Chaumont (La Rural Water Assoc.)