SPARTA

Ground Water Commission SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT COMMISSION

Wednesday, January 13, 2021 at 2:00 P.M.
Union Parish Courthouse Annex
303 East Water Street
Farmerville, LA

Meeting Minutes

Members Present: Nick Cox, Rick Buckner, Keith Jeselink, Reggie Skains, Richard Durrett, Mike Carpenter, Regina Rowe, Sam Little, Jamie Harrell, Ben Bridges

Ex-Officio Members Present: Jim York (LDNR), Ben McGee (USGS)

Sparta Groundwater Commission Executive Director: Lindsay Gouedy

Call to Order: Nick Cox, Chairman.

Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance – Keith Jeselink; Mike Carpenter

Public Comments – None

Roll Call Nick Cox, Rick Buckner, Keith Jeselink, Reggie Skains, Richard Durrett, Mike Carpenter, Regina Rowe, Sam Little, Jamie Harrell, Ben Bridges were present.

Approval of Agenda – Motion made by Mike Carpenter, 2nd by Rick Buckner

Motion passed.

Welcome and Comments. New Commission Members, Legislators, Other Elected Officials and Agency Officials. Senator Robert Mills, Angie Roberts (U.S. Senator Bill Cassidy), Kathy Ray (Senator Glen Womack's Office), Stephanie McKenzie (U.S. Senator Bill Cassidy), John Barr (U.S. Senator John Kennedy).

Approval of Minutes: October 14, 2020 Meeting - Motion made by Rick Buckner, 2nd by Keith Jeselink

Motion Passed

Treasurer's Report – Keith Jeselink. *Commission financial statement handed out. Discussed Donations.*

Sparta Foundation Report – *Jimmy Hand-Absent* . *Foundation Account Balance:* \$5,173.37.

Union County Water Conservation Board – *Sherrel Johnson-Absent unable to attend but sent a report.*

Executive Director's Report - Lindsay Gouedy

- Requesting contributions can send digital
- Donations \$45,000
- 2020 \$5,000; 2021 \$17,360; 2022 \$19,150
- Water level; water use data 2020
- Sparta Shoot main fundraiser more information to come (1st Saturday in June) Benton Shooting Sports

General Business:

- EDA Grant Update
- Proposed CEA with USGS as phase 1 of EDA Grant
 - Work on RFP's on Phase II & III
- Authorize chairman and director to execute CEA with USGS
 - o Motion to enter CEA by Rick Buckner; 2nd by Regina Rowe
 - Motion Passed.
- Discuss and take action on selection of CPA to complete 2020 Report for Legislative Auditor
 - o Motion by Regina Rowe; Seconded by Sam Little to hire Wade & Perry, CPAs APAC
 - Motion Passed
- Approval on LRWA and ORVA membership
 - o LRWA Motion by Rick Buckner; 2nd by Mike Carpenter
 - Motion Passed.
 - o ORVA Motion by Keith Jeselink; 2nd by Rick Buckner to table
 - Motion Passed
- 2021 Goals Nick Cox
 - o Inspection Data Collection Plan
 - Personal goal to report back to you
 - Implement and execute the grant
 - o Committees none; Executive only
- Discussion and presentation of Committee Appointments
- Approve 2021 authorized bank signers
 - o Nick Cox
 - o Rick Buckner
 - o Keith Jeselink
 - o Regina Rowe

o Jimmy Hand

- Motion by Reggie Skains; Seconded by Jamie Harrell
- Motion Passed.

Public Comments

Commissioner Comments

•

Adjournment

- Motion by Sam Little; 2nd by Keith Buckner
- Motion Passed

Next meeting: April 14, 2021 at 2 p.m., Homer, LA

Public Comments

Commissioner Comments

Recognized Mr. Zach Spivey, Mr. Charles Hughes, and Ms. Tammy Singleton for 6 years of service on the Commission.

Next Meeting: January 13, 2021 @ 2:00 P.M., Farmerville, La.

Adjourned.

Danies Davie Courtem Nick Cou Chairman

Regina Rowe, Secretary Nick Cox, Chairman

