

Call to Order: The April 11, 2018 meeting of the Sparta Groundwater Conservation District Commission was called to order by Mr. Zack Spivey at 2:00 P.M. at the Community Center in Jonesboro LA, in Jackson Parish. Members present or not present can be found on the attendance list. It was determined that a quorum was present. (Sign in sheets are available upon request.)

Invocation given by Mr. Lynn Treadway and Pledge of Allegiance led by Mr. Jack Clampit

Approval of Agenda: Motion was made by Mr. Rick Buckner and 2nd by Mr. Lynn Treadway that the agenda by approved. Motion passed unanimously.

Welcome and Comments: Mr. Zack Spivey welcomed New Commission Members, Legislators, Other Elected Officials and Agency Officials

Public Comments : None

Approval of Minutes of the February 26, 2018 Meeting: Motion was made by Mr. Jerry Taylor and 2nd by Mr. Charles Hughes. Motion passed unanimously to approve the minutes from the February 26, 2018 Meeting.

Action to amend the formerly approved minutes of the January 10, 2018 meeting in Winnfield, LA: Motion was made by Mr. Charles Hughes and 2nd by Mr. Lynn Treadway that we amend the formerly approved minutes of the January 10, 2018 meeting in Winnfield, LA. Motion passed unanimously.

Treasurer's Report – Mr. Jack Clampit handed the commission a treasures' report. Clampit stated that the Commission's accounts are stable. Motion was made by Mr. Jack Clampit and 2nd by Mr. Rick Buckner to approve the treasure's report. Motion passed unanimously.

Commissioner Report(s)

• Executive Committee – Zack Spivey, Chairman- Mr. Zack Spivey reported on the Legislative Breakfast we sponsored in Baton Rouge. He stated there were about 20 people in attendance. Mr. Jack Clampit, Mrs. Lindsey Gouedy, and himself were in attendance. Mr. Spivey also reported that Mrs. Gouedy and himself attended a committee hearing in Baton Rouge about the proposed legislation to amend Act 425.

• **Technical Committee – Rick Buckner**- Mr. Rick Buckner reported that the Technical Committee hasn't met yet.

• **Sparta Foundation – Rick Buckner** – Mr. Rick Buckner reported that there are no changes within the Sparta Foundation to report on at this time.

• Louisiana Water Resources Commission – Lindsay Gouedy – Mrs. Gouedy reported that the Louisiana Water Resources Commission has not met since our last meeting, therefore she has no update.

Executive Director's Report – Lindsay Gouedy– Mrs. Gouedy reported on water related House Bills: 433, 633, 403, and 517. Mrs. Gouedy also gave us a report on the donations that have been and have not been received. She also updated us on the Union Lincoln Initiative. Mrs. Gouedy also reported on the proposed plan of the AGRED group to sell surface water to Bossier and Webster Parish.

Review and approve Semi-annual Groundwater Report required by Act 425- The full commission was emailed a copy of the report that was drafted by Mr. Zack Spivey. Motion was made by Mr. Jack Clampit and a 2nd by Mr. Lynn Treadway. Motion passed Unanimously.

Legislative Update and Discussion- Mrs. Lindsay Gouedy stated that she has been visiting area Police Jurys and she would be glad to meet with anyone interested in what the Sparta Groundwater Commission does.

General Business:

• Water Institute of the Gulf – Ryan Clark – A presentation was made by Mr. Ryan Clark from the Water Institute of the Gulf. Questions were asked and answered following the presentation.

• **2018 Commission Nominations/Appointments** – Nominations and appointments were discussed and reminders were made for nominations.

- A reminder was made for everyone to fill out their ethics reporting.

Next meeting: July 11, 2018 at 2 p.m., Farmerville, LA

William & Sping

Zack Spivey, President

Adjournment

COMMISSION MEMBERS:

Nick Cox, Secretary

Tammy Singleton (Bienville) Dwayne R. Woodard (Claiborne) W. Lynn Treadway (Jackson) Lindsey Vincent (Lincoln) Hon. Samuel Little (Morehouse) Jack Clampit (Ouachita) Jerry Taylor (Union) Nick Cox (Webster) Mike Carpenter (Winn) TBA (Arcadia)* TBA (Homer)* Devin Flowers (Jonesboro) Rick Buckner (Minden) Zack Spivey (Ruston) Terry Emory (W. Monroe) Ann Marie Anderson (Agriculture) Charles Hughes (Wood Products) Jackie Perritt (Other Industries)

Ex Officio Members: Dr. Gary Kennedy (La Tech University); Ben McGee (USGS); Gary Hanson (LSUS); Susan Robbins (La Rural Water Assoc.); Jim York (LDNR) *Pending re-appointment or replacement appointment