

SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT COMMISSION MEETING

Monday, February 26, 2018 at 10:00 A.M. Historic Fire Station 200 E Mississippi St. Ruston, LA

Minutes/Meeting Notes

Call to Order: The February 26, 2018 meeting of the Sparta Groundwater Conservation District Commission was called to order by Mr. Zack Spivey at 10:00 A.M. at the Historic Fire Station in Ruston, LA in Lincoln Parish. Members present were Zack Spivey, Nick Cox, Charles Hughes, Jerry Taylor, Mike Carpenter, Lindsey Vincent, Rick Buckner, Terry Emory and Lynn Treadway. It was determined that a quorum was present. (Sign in sheets are available upon request.)

Invocation was given by Mr. Mike Carpenter and Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Nick Cox

Approval of Agenda Motion made by Mr. Charles Hughes and 2^{nd} by Mr. Jack Clampit that the agenda by approved. Motion passed unanimously.

Welcome and Comments: Mr. Zack Spivey welcomed Also welcomed guest Mr. Skip Russell from the Lincoln Parish Police Jury, Mayor Ronny Walker from Ruston, Cortney Hall from Lincoln Parish Police Jury, Mr. Richard Durrett and Hailey Broussard from Waggoner Engineering, and Mr. Rick Holt a former Sparta Groundwater commissioner

Public Comments None

Approval of Minutes of the January 10, 2018 Meeting Motion made by Mr. Charles Hughes, Mr. Rick Buckner Seconded, Motion passed unanimously

Treasurer's Report – Treasurer Jack Clampit was not in attendance. Mrs. Lindsay Gouedy gave a brief financial report on the SPGC and the SPG Foundation.

General Business

Executive Committee Report and Recommendation – Zack Spivey, Chairman led in a discussion of amending our enabling legislation, giving us the authority to access fees to support the conservation effects of the SGWC and it would amend the way our commissioners are appointed. It was requested by Jerry Taylor that we put a limit on our authority, limits on the amount of money we will generate, and that the commission will keep its cost at a minimum. Mr. Spivey agreed and stated that the SGWC is not interested in building an empire. Mayor Ronny Walker asked the question if there was anything in the new legislation that would hold Sparta user accountable for the water they used. Mr. Nick Cox stated that SGW commissioners do not desire to be the water police. Mrs. Lindsay Gouedy explained to everyone about how our proposed legislation has evolved with input from local industries and other groundwater commissions. Mr. Zack Spivey stated that we would be required to have a public hearing before we could establish a fee structure, and that we would establish such a fee structure after we receive public input and after we spend much time and some money doing research on setting up the fee structure. Mr. Nick Cox made a motion that we submit this draft legislation with the changes we needed to make to our legislator. Motion was 2nd by Rick Buckner. Motion passed Unanimously.

2018 Budget Amendment – Mr. Zack Spivey expressed a desire to host our state legislators in joint breakfast with the Capital Ground Water Commission down in Baton Rouge at a time that would be established at a later date. The proposed breakfast would cost the SGWC around \$800 and the purpose of the breakfast is to strengthen our relationships with our legislators. A Motion was made by Mr. Charles Hughes that we amend our budget to include a \$1,000 for this legislative breakfast. 2nd By Mr. Lynn Treadway. Motion passed unanimously.

Meeting was adjourned at 12:40 P.M.

William of spring

Zack Spivey, President.

Nick Cox, Secretary

Note: Associated documents are filed and available upon request.

Next meeting: April 11, 2018 at 2 p.m., Jonesboro, LA

COMMISSION MEMBERS:

Tammy Singleton (Bienville)
Hon. Samuel Little (Morehouse)
Mike Carpenter (Winn)
Rick Buckner (Minden)
Ann Marie Anderson (Agriculture)

Dwayne R. Woodard (Claiborne)
Jack Clampit (Ouachita)
TBA (Arcadia)
Zack Spivey (Ruston)
Charles Hughes (Wood Products)

W. Lynn Treadway (Jackson) Jerry Taylor (Union) TBA (Homer)* Terry Emory (W. Monroe) Jackie Perritt (Other Industries) Lindsey Vincent (Lincoln) Nick Cox (Webster) Devin Flowers (Jonesboro)

Ex Officio Members: Dr. Gary Kennedy (La Tech University); Ben McGee (USGS); Gary Hanson (LSUS); Susan Robbins (La Rural Water Assoc.); Jim York (LDNR)

^{*}Pending re-appointment or replacement appointment