

# SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT COMMISSION MEETING

Thursday, January 19, 2017, 2016 at 2:00 P.M. Claiborne Parish Police Jury Building 507 W. Main Street Homer, LA 71040

#### **MINUTES**

**CALL TO ORDER**: The January 19, 2017 meeting of the Sparta Groundwater Conservation District Commission was called to order by President Zack Spivey at 2:00 PM at the Claiborne Parish Police Jury Building Homer, LA. Members present and not present can be found on the attached attendance list. It was determined that a quorum did exist. (Attachment 1—Sign-in sheets)

The Invocation was lead by Jerry Taylor and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Dwayne Woodard

**Agenda** was approved.

**Welcome and Comments**: Zack Spivey, President of the Commission welcomed all present to Homer, LA and welcomed special guests: Sherrel Johnson, Richard Durrett, Stacia Davis, and Naveen Adusumilli

Motion: Charles Hughes moved, seconded by Jack Clampit that the Minutes of the October 13, 2016 Meeting be approved. The motion passed unanimously. The minutes were reviewed and no corrections were made.

**Treasurer's Report** – Treasurer Lynn Treadway reported on the status of commission funds. **Motion:** Jack Clampit moved, seconded by Charles Hughes that the Treasurer's Report be accepted. The motion passed unanimously. (**Attachment 2**—Treasurer's Report)

Presentation- Was made by Sherrel Johnson about the Union County Water Conservation District

### **Commissioner Reports:**

**Union County Water Plant Tour** hosted by Entergy on October 19, 2016 – Zack Spivey **Sparta Foundation** announced that the Sparta Shoot will be June 3<sup>rd</sup> in West Monroe at the Ouachita Parish Shooting Range – Rick Buckner

**Louisiana Water Resources Commission** - Lindsay Gouedy

**Conservation Educator's Report** – Lindsay Gouedy, Conservation Educator, explained the Sparta Shoot sponsorship forms would be coming out soon, and welcomed Jerry Taylor from Union Parish to the Sparta Ground Water Commission.

# **General Business:**

Mr. Rick Buckner moved, seconded by Mr. Lynn Treadway to Approve the **resolution supporting Ouachita Parish Initiative** to encourage use of reclaimed waste water from industry. Motion carried unanimously.

Mr. Sam Little moved, seconded by Mr. Jack Clampit to Approve the **resolution supporting Webster Parish surface water project** (tentative). Motion carried unanimously.

Next item was a discussion on the **Nominations for Advisory Taskforce**. Mrs. Lindsay Gouedy explained that the Advisory Taskforce hasn't met in 3 years and the Advisory Taskforce has many appointees which has made it difficult for them to have a quorum present. Mrs. Gouedy also explained that we need to have a nominee in place in case the Advisory Taskforce did choose to meet. Mr. Richard Durrett spoke to the commission and explained that the role of the Advisory Taskforce is to be a research based resource to the Groundwater Commission. No action was taken.

Next item was a discussion on the **2017 Commission Appointments**. Mr. Spivey stated the that Rick Buckner, Charles Hughes, and his own term on the Sparta Ground Water Commission expires this year. Mr. Spivey encouraged them to get their nominating agencies to either nominate them again or start seeking their replacements. Mr. Spivey also disused the need to our commission to have continuity and encouraged the commissioners to contact our legislators about giving the Sparta Ground Water Commission more authority so it could be more effective. No action taken.

Next Meeting: April 20, 2017 - West Monroe, LA		
The meeting was <b>Adjourned</b> at 3:28 p.m.		
Zack Spivey, President	Nick Cox, Secretary	_
	,	
Note: Attachments are filed and available upon request.		

### **COMMISSION MEMBERS:**

Tammy Singleton (Bienville) Hon. Samuel Little (Morehouse) Tim Howell (Winn) TBA (Jonesboro) Ann Marie Anderson (Agriculture)

TBA (Arcadia)
Rick Buckner (Minden)
Charles Hughes (Wood Products)

Jack Clampit (Ouachita)

Dwaine R. Woodard (Claiborne)

W. Lynn Treadway (Jackson) Jerry Taylor (Union) TBA (Homer) Zack Spivey (Ruston) Jackie Perritt (Other Industries)

Lindsey Vincent (Lincoln) Nick Cox (Webster) Terry Emory (W. Monroe)

Ex Officio Members: Dr. Gary Kennedy (La Tech University); Ben McGee (USGS); Gary Hanson (LSUS); ... (La Rural Water Assoc.)

<sup>\*</sup>Pending re-appointment or replacement appointment