

SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT COMMISSION MEETING

Wednesday, February 24, 2016 at <u>2:00 P.M.</u> Police Jury Meeting Room, Farmerville, LA

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER: The February 24th meeting of the Sparta Groundwater Conservation District Commission was called to order by President Zack Spivey at 2:00 PM at the Police Jury Room in Farmerville, LA. Refreshments were provided by the city of Farmerville. Members present and not present can be found on the attached attendance list. It was determined that a quorum did exist. (Attachment 1—Sign-in sheets)

The **Invocation** was given by Zack Spive and the **Pledge of Allegiance** was led by Lynn Treadway.

Welcome and Comments: Zack Spivey, President of the Commission welcomed all present to the Farmerville, LA and welcomed special guests including the Mayor of Farmerville, Mr. Dan Morgan for securing the Police Jury Room, and Ruston's Courtney Hall for attending.

Motion: It was moved and seconded that the **Minutes of the October 2015 Meeting** be approved. The motion passed unanimously. The **minutes** were reviewed and no corrections were made.

Treasurer's Report – Treasurer Lynn Treadway reported on the cash flow since the last meeting: Income--\$5,500.62 and Expenses--\$6,918.72. The current balance is \$38,254.32. **Motion:** It was moved and seconded that the Treasurer's Report be accepted. The motion passed unanimously. (**Attachment 2**—Treasurer's Report)

Commissioner Reports - Conservation Educator's Report – Lindsay Gouedy, Conservation Educator She spoke about the upcoming Sparta Shoot and the need for additional support given the recent shifts in oil prices and the traditional support for the event from oil companies.

General Business:

- Mr. Rick Buckner, representing the City of Minden, was nominated and elected to serve as Executive Director of the Sparta Foundation.
- State approved appointments were confirmed including new and returning commission members, Mr. Lynn Treadway, Mrs. Lindsey Keith-Vincent, and Mr. Sam Little.
- Mr. Richard Durrett was available to provide an updated report on the Lincoln Union Initiative.
- Also discussed was the upcoming Board of Ethics reports that all members must complete. This
 must be complete before May 15. Mrs. Gouedy emailed additional information about the
 process to all members.
- Schedule of Meetings for 2016-17

January 19, 2017—Claiborne Parish April 20, 2017—Webster Parish July 21, 2016—Union Parish July 20, 2017—Lincoln Parish October 20, 2016—Jackson Parish October 19, 2017—Ouachita Parish

Next meeting: January 21, 2016, 2 p.m., Union Parish

The meeting was **Adjourned** at 3:00 p.m.

Zack Spivey, President	Lindsey Keith-Vincent, Secretary

Charles Hughes (Wood Products)

Note: Attachments are filed and available upon request.

COMMISSION MEMBERS:

Ann Marie Anderson (Agriculture)*

TBA (Bienville) * Dwaine R. Woodard (Claiborne)* W. Lynn Treadway (Jackson)* Lindsey Vincent (Lincoln)* Hon. Samuel Little (Morehouse)* Steve Lemmons (Webster) Scotty Robinson (Ouachita) Dan Morgan (Union) TBA (Winn) Elliot Colvin (Rotating Richland) TBA (Arcadia) TBA (Homer)* TBA (Jonesboro) Rick Buckner (Minden) Zack Spivey (Ruston) Terry Emory (W. Monroe)

Jackie Perritt (Other Industries)

Ex Officio Members: Dr. Gary Kennedy (La Tech University); Ben McGee (USGS); Gary Hanson (LSUS); ... (La Rural Water Assoc.)

^{*}Pending re-appointment or replacement appointment