

SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT COMMISSION MEETING

Thursday, October 13, 2016 at <u>2:00 P.M.</u> Mayor's Conference Room, Minden, LA

MINUTES

CALL TO ORDER: The February 24th meeting of the Sparta Groundwater Conservation District Commission was called to order by President Zack Spivey at 2:00 PM at the Mayor's Conference Room in Minden , LA. Refreshments were provided by the City of Minden. Members present and not present can be found on the attached attendance list. It was determined that a quorum did exist. (Attachment 1—Sign-in sheets)

The Invocation and the Pledge of Allegiance was led by Lynn Treadway.

Welcome and Comments: Zack Spivey, President of the Commission welcomed all present to Minden, LA and welcomed special guests including the Mayor of Minden, Mr. Tommy Davis who was recognized for working with Rick Buckner and reserving the space to host the meeting.

Motion: It was moved and seconded that the **Minutes of the February 2016 Meeting** be approved. The motion passed unanimously. The **minutes** were reviewed and no corrections were made.

Treasurer's Report – Treasurer Lynn Treadway reported on the status of commission funds. **Motion:** It was moved and seconded that the Treasurer's Report be accepted. The motion passed unanimously. (**Attachment 2**—Treasurer's Report)

Commissioner Reports - Conservation Educator's Report – Lindsay Gouedy, Conservation Educator spoke about the recent waterfests and the plans for expansion into nearby parishes including Winn.

General Business:

- Approval of the resolution for the Ouachita Parish Initiative took place.
- Officers were thanked for their 2016 service. New recommendations were made by the leadership committee for the 2017 officers. Those nominated were unanimously approved.
- The 2016-2017 budget was reviewed and approved.
- An Executive Session was called to discuss the continuation and alteration of the Conservation Educator's contract.
- It was determined that contract would be extended and that performance bonuses would be made available following the raising of at least 5000.00 additional dollars for the 2017 year. The educator agreed to the new stipulation.

• Schedule of Meetings for 2016-17

January 19, 2017—Claiborne Parish April 20, 2017—Webster Parish July 20, 2017—Lincoln Parish

Next meeting: January 19, 2017, 2 p.m., Union Parish

The meeting was **Adjourned** at 3:00 p.m.

Zack Spivey, President

Note: Attachments are filed and available upon request.

COMMISSION MEMBERS:

TBA (Bienville) * Hon. Samuel Little (Morehouse)* TBA (Winn) TBA (Jonesboro) Ann Marie Anderson (Agriculture)* Dwaine R. Woodard (Claiborne)* Scotty Robinson (Ouachita) Elliot Colvin (Rotating Richland) Rick Buckner (Minden) Charles Hughes (Wood Products) W. Lynn Treadway (Jackson)* Dan Morgan (Union) TBA (Arcadia) Zack Spivey (Ruston) Jackie Perritt (Other Industries) Lindsey Vincent (Lincoln)* Steve Lemmons (Webster) TBA (Homer)* Terry Emory (W. Monroe)

Ex Officio Members: Dr. Gary Kennedy (La Tech University); Ben McGee (USGS); Gary Hanson (LSUS); ... (La Rural Water Assoc.) *Pending re-appointment or replacement appointment