

# SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT COMMISSION MEETING

Thursday, January 20, 2011
Minden Civic Center, 520 Broadway, Minden, LA 71055
3:00 P.M.

#### **AGENDA**

Call to Order

Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance

Approval of Agenda

Welcome and Comments: Legislators, Other Elected Officials and Agency Officials

**Public Comments** 

Approval of Minutes of October 21, 2010 Meeting

Treasurer's Report - Billy Perritt

#### Reports

- Administration Committee Olevia McDonald
- Sparta Foundation and Marketing Committee Rick Hohlt
- Long-term Planning Committee Alice Stewart
- Sparta Conservation Educator -- Lindsay Gouedy
- Sparta Commission's Representative on Groundwater Resources Commission -- Ted McKinney

## Presentations

- Use of Surface Water Alternatives to Groundwater in Natural Gas Production-- Haynesville Shale and Other Areas Across the Nation -- Gary Hanson, Director of Red River Watershed Management Institute
- Experience in Developing Surface Water Alternatives to Sparta Water Use in Building a Salt-dome Cavern for Natural Gas Storage Arcadia Gas Storage Report with introduction by Chris Smith

## General Business

• Election of Officers for 2011

Arrangements for next meeting: Lincoln Parish, April 21

From 2 p.m. until 3 p.m., there will be an open, informal assembly for fellowship and exchange of ideas.

Committee Meetings and Sparta Foundation Meetings will be held during this time.

## **COMMISSION MEMBERS:**

Billy Perritt (Bienville) Dr. Ben Lowery (Claiborne) Todd Culpepper (Jackson) Rick Hohlt (Lincoln) Rep. Samuel Little (Morehouse) Mack Calhoun (Ouachita) Dan Morgan (Union) Steve Lemmons (Webster) Charles Braddock (Rotating Seat-Caldwell) Willie G. Doherty (Winn) Chris Smith (Arcadia) Alice Stewart (Homer) Mayor Leslie Thompson (Jonesboro) George Rolfe (Minden) Ted McKinney (Ruston) Terry Emory (W. Monroe) John Van Bennett (Agriculture) Olevia McDonald (Wood Products) Jackie Perritt (Other Industries)

Ex Officio Members: Dr. Gary Kennedy (La Tech University); Ben McGee (USGS); Gary Hanson (LSUS); Bill Chaumont (La Rural Water Assoc.)