

## SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT

### Minutes of Meeting December 13, 2007

The Sparta Groundwater Conservation District met on December 13, 2007 at 3:05 PM in the Civic Center/City Hall, Court Room 520 Broadway Minden, LA 71055.

**Commission Members Present:** Herb Byars, Gary Carlisle, Gene **Co**leman, Edward Dayton, Dennis, Downs, Olevia McDonald, Billy Don Perritt, Jackie Perritt, George W. Rolfe, Jr. Alice, Stewart, Leslie Thompson, Dennis E. Woodward.

**Commission Members Absent:** Kim L. Brantley, Mack Calhoun, Todd Culpepper, Samuel Pl Little, Dan Morgan, Bobby E. Price, John Van Bennett.

The meeting was officially called to order by Chairman Gene Coleman.

The invocation was given by Olevia McDonald and Billy Perritt led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag.

#### Agenda Approval

It was moved by Jackie Perritt and seconded by Dennis Woodward to approve the agenda. The motion was approved unanimously. (See Attachment I)

#### Minutes

It was moved by Leslie Thompson and seconded by Herb Byars that the minutes of the November 8, 2007 minutes be approved. The motion was approved unanimously.

## **Welcome – Legislators, Others**

A welcome was extended to all legislators present as well as to other guests. Mike Walsworth thanked the Commission for the service it continues to provide. He extended best wishes for the holiday season and vowed his continued support and help. Mr. Jonathan Johnson with Congressman Alexander's office made the group aware of Cong. Alexander's continued support. Ms. Leslie Quinn, Senator Vitter's aide, told the group that Senator Vitter supports the efforts of the Sparta commission and is looking for ways to provide the group with Federal resources.

Dennis Downs, new commissioner from Sabine Parish was introduced to the group. Mr. Downs said he looks forward to learning and working with the efforts of the commission.

Tony Duplechin, Geologist Administrator told the group that the funding for Real Time Water Well Monitors, a USGS project directed by Ben McGee was approved by the Office of Conservation.

# Treasurer Report

The Treasurer report was given by Dennis Woodward. A Copy of the financial statement presented to commission is attached. (**See Attachment II**) It was moved by Dennis Woodward and seconded by Jackie Perritt to accept the treasurer report. The motion was approved unanimously.

#### **Committee Reports**

The following committees made reports:

Public Relation/Education

Jackie Perritt and Dennis Woodward reviewed committee activities. Dennis discussed the educational activities and reminded the group of the funding that had been received \$7M from Entergy and \$18.5M from NRC. He mentioned that Trail Blazer attended Fairs and provided Sparta information. Rick Hohlt is continuing to work on DVD for educating school children in a 'storytelling' format. Funds are continuing to be solicited to complete production of the DVD.

### Long-term Planning

Alice Stewart provided a summary of what was done in 2007. (See Attachment III)

At the end of Dr. Stewart's report, Mr. Coleman provided an opportunity for each Commissioner to make comments on their opinion of the Sparta Commission and its progress to date. Various members provided the group with their opinions ranging from progress being made and much more needed to concerns for education position to be full time Sparta position and not LSU Ag Center shared position.

#### Nomination

Herb Byars, Chairman provided the group with the following names nominated for election: Chairman – Gene Coleman Vice Chairman – Mack Calhoun Secretary – Jackie Perritt Asst. Secretary – Olevia McDonald Treasurer – Dennis Woodward

#### **Election of Officers**

The officers nominated by the nomination committed were elected to the designated positions. It was moved by George W. Rolfe, Jr. and seconded by Billy Don Perritt. The motion was approved unanimously.

#### Budget

The budget prepared by Treasurer, Dennis Woodward was received by the group after some discussion. (**See Attachment IV**) It was moved by Leslie Thompson and seconded by Alice Stewart to adopt the 2008 budget. The motion was approved unanimously.

The next meeting is scheduled for February 7, 2007 3:00 PM in Ruston, LA.

After a motion by Dennis Woodward and a second by Jackie Perritt, the meeting was adjourned.

Gene Coleman, Chairman

Olevia McDonald, Secretary