

SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT

MINUTES OF MEETING May 10, 2007

The Sparta Groundwater Conservation District met on May 10, 2007 at 3:05 P.M in the Winn Parish Court House, 119 West Main Street Winnfield, Louisiana 71483.

Commission Members Present: John Van Bennett, Kim Brantley, Herbert Byars, Mack Calhoun, Gene Coleman, Edward Dayton, Don Essmeier, Olevia McDonald, Billy Don Perritt, Jackie Perritt, Bobby E. Price, George W. Rolfe, Jr., Alice Stewart, and Dennis E. Woodward.

Commission Members Absent: Sellers Aycock, Gary Carlisle, Todd Culpepper, Samuel P. Little, and Dan Morgan.

The meeting was officially called to order by Chairman Gene Coleman.

The invocation was given by Billy Perritt.

Agenda Approval

It was moved by Dennis Woodward and seconded by George Rolfe, Jr. to approve the agenda. The motion was approved unanimously. (See Attachment I)

Welcome – Legislators

There were no legislators present. Alice Stewart read a letter from State Representative Charles McDonald. (See Attachment II)

Minutes

It was moved by Alice Stewart and seconded by Jackie Perritt that the minutes be approved. The motion was approved unanimously.

Treasurer Report

A Treasurer report was given by Dennis Woodward. A copy of the financial statement presented to commission is attached. (See Attachment III) A recommendation was made to send 'thank you' letters to the various entities and individuals who made or makes contributions to the Commission.

It was moved by John Van Bennett and seconded by Mack Calhoun to accept the treasurer report. The motion was approved unanimously.

Committee Reports

The following committees made reports:

Long Term Planning

Alice Stewart, on behalf of the long term planning committee, submitted a two (2) month progress report of work completed by different members and committees of the Sparta Commission toward the Commission's objectives. (See Attachment IV)

It was moved by Dennis Woodward and seconded by Jackie Perritt to approve the committee's report. The motion was approved unanimously.

Public Relations

Jackie Perritt discussed the activities of public relations committee. (See Attachment V) It was moved by Mack Calhoun and seconded by Edward Dayton to approve the committee's report. The motion was approved unanimously.

Legislative

John Van Bennett presented the legislative committee's report. (See Attachment VI) It was moved by Don Essmeier and seconded by Dennis Woodward to approve the committee's report. The motion was approved unanimously.

Other Business

There was a discussion among the members concerning technology that may be used beneficially to help the Sparta. The information was presented at the Ruston Civic Center in the Peach Suite on Tuesday May 8, 2007. It was suggested that representatives from Lane Christensen come and present this information to the Commission.

The next Sparta meeting will be held in Arcadia on Thursday June 14, 2007 at the Bienville Parish Police Jury Office.

Presentation

Michael Dowty with the Department of Health and Hospitals presented information to the group on the safe drinking water program. He discussed the rigorous testing and evaluations that take place at treatment facilities as well as the training operators have to receive to assure safe drinking water. Dr. Douglas Carlson, Assistant Professor – Research at Louisiana State University discussed the proposal he sent to the Commission regarding developing a model for the Sparta Aquifer. Dr. Carlson pointed out that the proposed model has a finer resolution of cells within it than the model done by Meyer and Meyer in the Sparta Study. Today's computer technology allows finer grid resolutions which would allow a model that can predict results for various scenarios more accurately.

There was a question and answering period after the presentations that stimulated ideas and additional comments.

Public Comment

It was moved by Mack Calhoun and seconded by Edward Dayton to adjourn the meeting. There were no objections.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:25 PM by the Chairperson.

Gene Coleman, Chairman

Olevia McDonald, Secretary