SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT

MINUTES OF MEETING January 11, 2007

The Sparta Groundwater Conservation District met on January 11, 2007 at 3:10 P.M. at the Minden Civic Center (City Hall) located at 520 Broadway Street in Minden, Louisiana 71055.

Commission Members Present: John Van Bennett, Herbert Byars, Mack Calhoun, Gary Carlisle, Gene Coleman, Todd Culpepper, Edward Dayton, Don Essmeier, Olevia McDonald, Jackie Perritt, George W. Rolfe, Jr., Alice Stewart, and Dennis E. Woodward.

Commission Members Absent: Kim Brantley, George H. Jacob, Samuel P, Little, Dan Morgan, and Bobby E. Price

The meeting was officially called to order by Chairman Gene Coleman.

The invocation was given by Olevia McDonald.

Herb Byars welcomed the commission members to Minden. Honorable Bill Robertson, Mayor of Minden, also extended greetings to the group. Mayor Robertson also informed the group that a reception for the Governor would be held in the meeting room we were using later in the evening.

Agenda Approval

It was moved by Jackie Perritt and seconded by Todd Culpepper to approve the agenda. The motion was approved unanimously. (See Attachment I)

Minutes

Minutes reflecting all of the committee appointments were reviewed by members. It was moved by Herbert Byars and seconded by Dennis Woodward that the minutes be approved. The motion was approved unanimously.

Treasurer Report

A Treasurer report was given by Dennis Woodward. A copy of the financial statement presented to commission is attached. (See Attachment II) Mack Calhoun indicated that Ouachita Parish would be making a contribution of \$2500.00.

It was moved by Dennis Woodward and seconded by Jackie Perritt to accept the treasurer report. The motion was approved unanimously.

Committee Reports

Finance

There was a discussion of funding and the need for contributions. Gene Coleman suggested that additional entities be contacted for contributions i.e. additional Wood Products companies,

Davison Trucking, etc.

Public Relations

Jackie Perritt submitted a copy of the committee's report. (See Attachment III)

Long Term Planning

Alice Stewart submitted a copy of the committee's report. (See Attachment IV)

Legislative

The chairperson for the legislative committee was absent. Mack Calhoun commented that he had talked with legislators to seek their continued support.

It was moved by Dennis Woodward and seconded by Todd Culpepper to accept all of the committee reports. The motion passed unanimously.

Presentations

Robin D. Bridges with Claiborne Parish Extension service talked to the group about the Water Festival that is held annually. This festival targets 6^{th} grade students and teach them about water conservation. 200 - 300 students are exposed to this information annually. Robin also talked to the group about a proposal from Dr. Nipper about establishing a grant to fund a position for Sparta Education.

Rhonda Martin-Rudder from Arkansas talked to the group about the history of Arkansas Sparta Conservation activity and the issues that were overcome to get them to their present standing. Ken Rudder was also on hand to discuss the cooperative effort between the industries and Union County to properly address the needs and solutions. She left a copy of the cd with her report – Union Count Water Conservation Board Project Description.

Public Comment

Tony Duplechin with the Department of Natural Resources Ground Water Division told the group that the meeting scheduled for the State Ground Water Commission would be rescheduled. Rick Hohlt with the *Ruston Daily Leader* asked to commission to look for additional funding and suggested that the commission officially request \$0.5MM from the state.

Other Business

Based upon the recommendation Public Relations Committee report, the next meeting will be held in Ruston, Louisiana on February 8, 2007 at 3:00 PM

It was moved by Mack Calhoun and seconded by Dennis Woodward that the Sparta Commission meeting be adjourned. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 4:40PM.

Gene Coleman, Chairman	Olevia McDonald, Secretary