### SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT COMMISSION MEETING

Louisiana Political Museum, 499 E. Main, Winnfield LA 71292 (Main at Railroad Tracks)

## Thursday, October 20, 2011 2:00 P.M. **AGENDA**

Call to Order Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance Approval of Agenda

Welcome and Comments: Legislators, Other Elected Officials and Agency Officials

**Public Comments** 

Approval of Minutes of July 21, 2011 Meeting Treasurer's Report & Consideration of Draft 2012 Budget Proposal - Billy Perritt Election of Officers for Year 2012

UCWCB Presentation & Consideration of Requesting LDNR to repeat contribution to funding Louisiana monitoring wells that are part of the South Arkansas Sparta Recovery Initiative

**Committee Reports:** 

- Sparta Foundation and Marketing Campaign Rick Hohlt
- Other

Groundwater Resources Commission Report - Sparta Commission's Representative, Ted McKinney Sparta Conservation Education-- Lindsay Gouedy

Groundwater Update, with Sparta and Wilcox aquifers - USGS Supervisory Hydrologist, Ben McGee

Studies of Surface Water Alternatives

- WESTERN OUACHITA PARISH WATER MANAGEMENT PLAN -- Mack Calhoun ٠
- CITY OF WINNFIELD POTABLE WATER SUPPLY RESERVOIR ON PORT DE LUCE PROJECT' -Willie Doherty
- UNION-LINCOLN INITIATIVE REGIONAL WATER SUPPLY INITIATIVE Rick Hohlt

Tentative arrangements (following past practice) for next meeting: Bienville Parish Courthouse, Police Jury Meeting Room, 100 Courthouse Dr., Arcadia 71001, Jan. 19, 2012

#### From 1 p.m. until 2 p.m., there will be an open, informal assembly for fellowship and exchange of ideas. Committee Meetings and Sparta Foundation Meetings will be held during this time.

COMMISSION MEMBERS:			
Billy Perritt (Bienville)	Dr. Ben Lowery (Claiborne)	Todd Culpepper (Jackson)	Rick Hohlt (Lincoln)
Rep. Samuel Little (Morehouse)	Mack Calhoun (Ouachita)	Dan Morgan (Union)	Steve Lemmons (Webster)
Willie G. Doherty (Winn)	Joe Stevens (Rotating Seat-La Salle)	Chris Smith (Arcadia)	Alice Stewart (Homer)
(Jonesboro)	George Rolfe (Minden)	Ted McKinney (Ruston)	Terry Emory (W. Monroe)
John Van Bennett (Agriculture)	Olevia McDonald (Wood Products)	Jackie Perritt (Other Industries)	
Ex Officio Members: Dr. Gary Kennedy (La Tech University); Ben McGee (USGS); Gary Hanson (LSUS); Bill Chaumont (La Rural Water Assoc.)			

Sparta Commission Mission Statement: The guiding purpose and primary objective of the Sparta Ground Water Conservation District Commission is to conserve, protect, restore, and maintain the Sparta Formation Aquifer as a continuing source of high quality, potable water for current and future consumers by promoting conservation measures and the development of alternate sources of fresh water, pursuant to the authority and responsibility granted by the State of Louisiana.

# 

#### Sparta Groundwater Conservation District Meeting 2:00 p.m. October 20, 2011 Louisiana Political Museum (Main & Railroad tracks) 499 E. Main, Winnfield, La Informal gathering at 1:00 p.m.

