

SPARTA GROUNDWATER CONSERVATION DISTRICT COMMISSION – SPECIAL MEETING

Lomax Hall, Louisiana Tech Univ., Ruston, LA 71272 (Map of Route to Louisiana Tech Univ. Lomax Hall and Reese Hall next page)

Monday, November 14, 2011 2:00 P.M. AGENDA

Call to Order Invocation and Pledge of Allegiance Approval of Agenda

Welcome and Comments: Legislators, Other Elected Officials and Agency Officials

Public Comments

Approval of Minutes of October 20, 2011 Meeting

Program:

- 1. Consider the 'Draft State Recommendations for a Statewide Ground Water Management Plan' published Oct. 14 www.dnr.louisiana.gov/draftstatewidewaterplan (http://dnr.louisiana.gov/assets/docs/conservation/GroundwaterPlanRec2011.pdf)
- 2. Develop an official response and recommendation to the Louisiana State Groundwater Commission from the Sparta Groundwater Commission regarding the content of this plan.

(Written responses and recommendations regarding this plan are due by November 21, 2011 to the Louisiana Department of Natural Resources.)

Announcement

• Louisiana Groundwater Resources Commission meeting on Wednesday, December 7, 2011 at 11:00 a.m, LaBelle Room on 1st Floor of LaSalle Bldg., 617 North 3rd Street, Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802

Tentative arrangements (following past practice) for next meeting: Bienville Parish Courthouse, Police Jury Meeting Room, 100 Courthouse Dr., Arcadia 71001, Jan. 19, 2012

At 1 p.m. the Sparta Commission's Long Term Planning Committee will meet in the Conference Room in Reese Hall, Louisiana Tech Univ. to exchange ideas on the draft State GW plan.

COMMISSION MEMBERS:

Dr. Ben Lowery (Claiborne) Billy Perritt (Bienville) Todd Culpepper (Jackson) Rick Hohlt (Lincoln) Rep. Samuel Little (Morehouse) Mack Calhoun (Ouachita) Steve Lemmons (Webster) Dan Morgan (Union) Willie G. Doherty (Winn) Joe Stevens (Rotating Seat-La Salle) Chris Smith (Arcadia) Alice Stewart (Homer) (Jonesboro) George Rolfe (Minden) Ted McKinney (Ruston) Terry Emory (W. Monroe) Olevia McDonald (Wood Products) Jackie Perritt (Other Industries) John Van Bennett (Agriculture)

Ex Officio Members: Dr. Gary Kennedy (La Tech University); Ben McGee (USGS); Gary Hanson (LSUS); Bill Chaumont (La Rural Water Assoc.)

Sparta Commission Mission Statement: The guiding purpose and primary objective of the Sparta Ground Water Conservation District Commission is to conserve, protect, restore, and maintain the Sparta Formation Aquifer as a continuing source of high quality, potable water for current and future consumers by promoting conservation measures and the development of alternate sources of fresh water, pursuant to the authority and responsibility granted by the State of Louisiana.

Map to Louisiana Tech Reese Hall (on Hwy. 80) and Lomax Hall (behind Reese Hall)

